Meet Michael Patoine: Technical Director Extraordinaire!

Hi, everyone.  Justine normally does these, but since I knew that I’d be next up, I decided to sneak in here and write a bit about myself.  I’m a Libra, blood type O+, and 178cm tall (or 1.78m for those of you who have a hard time converting decimals).  I like sweets, video games, and romantic walks.  My lucky number is 4, and the game I most recently played is Virtue’s Last Reward on 3DS.

As the title of this post suggests, I’m the technical director of the group.  What it all boils down to is, I’m responsible for any decisions involving the tech we use, for making sure that everything we use is working smoothly, and for programming/scripting all the products we make.  Of course, this guy explains the technical part of it far better than I ever could.

I was first introduced to coding in 1998, when I started writing my own webpage [insert geocities link here] in html.  I grew up in Kapuskasing, a small, isolated community in Northern Ontario, where if you don’t play hockey, there’s not much to do, so I spent a large amount of time in front of the computer.  In high school, I took a couple computer courses, mostly learning how to approach simple problems using Visual Basic.  In university, I took an intro to C course, and was ranked 3rd in my class of 80.  Fun fact – university is where I met Justine.  When we met, she hated my guts (a surprisingly common first impression I leave), but now we get along swimmingly, so I’m told.  When I finished university, I went to TriOS college to study game development, which is where I really learned the tools of the trade.   While there, I learned from a guy who made this and a guy who went on to make this.  When I graduated, I started working at Cerebral Vortex Games, which is where I met the very talented Erica.  Since CVG closed its doors, it’s been one wild adventure.

At the time that I’m writing this, I am working on two Android games, a Flash game, and re-working our website, which gives you an idea of how busy we keep ourselves.  Once those are out, we’ve got even more exciting ideas lined up.  I can’t go into details yet, but I’m looking forward to what will be coming up. 

I always have lots to say, but I’m not always allowed on these public forms (some of our playtesters have seen my lack of tact).  If you guys want to hear more from me, have questions you want answered from me, want me to go more in detail about what I do or my process, or simply want to hear one of my many anectodes (learning to fly in 7 weeks, being invited to supper by the ruler of a country, programming 90% of a game with a stuffed rat on my head, punching a shark in the nose – only one of those is made up), then leave a comment.  If you’re into Facebook, like and share this post, and if you’re not, then keep up the good fight.

-MIKE OUT

Code Monkey: The last member of the DK crew

Leave a Reply

